Tuesday, November 25, 2014

CMH has most C8 1st team players

from today's Waukesha Freeman -

Borton, Kelly capture top Classic 8 football honors

WAUKESHA — Muskego High School senior running back Ryan Borton was selected the Classic 8 Conference Offensive Player of the Year, while Waukesha West senior defensive end Marcus Kelly won the league’s Defensive Player of the Year award.

Catholic Memorial produced the most first-team allconference players with two on offense and four on defense. Senior center Tony Balistreri, senior tight end Mike Schmidt, senior defensive lineman Sam Gromacki, junior defensive lineman Zack Taylor, senior defensive back Jett Siegenthaler and senior linebacker Mikey Wurster were first-team picks for CMH.

Muskego head coach Ken Krause was named Coach of the Year. The Warriors produced four first teamers and two more second teamers.

The Division 2 runnerup Waukesha West Wolverines had four first team selections — all on defense — and four on the second team. Arrowhead, the Division 1 state runnersup four first teamers and three on the second team.

Kettle Moraine’s Kevin Yarbough was named Assistant Coach of the Year.

Arrowhead, Catholic Memorial, Muskego and Waukesha West all went 5-2 in the Classic to share the league title. It was the first time in the conference’s history to have a four-way tie for first place.

— Freeman Staff

No comments: