Thursday, June 13, 2013

Freeman coverage of Tommy Awards

from today's Waukesha Freeman -

County high school, area students capture Tommy Awards
Winners to be honored in Madison on Sunday night

WAUKESHA – Waukesha County was well-represented in the Tommy Awards, which recognizes excellence in high school theater.

Oconomowoc High School was one of nine schools honored with an Outstanding Musical award for its production of “Oklahoma!” The production staff featured director Thomas Klubertanz,
vocal director Sherman Leatherberry, orchestra director Lynn Carlstein, choreographer Karl Miller, costume designer Carrie Johnson, scenic designer Scott Wirtz-Olsen, lighting designer Ross Zentner, sound designer Michael Nicolai and stage managers Brooke Olson and Jordan Walczak.

Waukesha South High School won an Outstanding
Ensemble award, an Outstanding Orchestra award and Outstanding Overall Design for “A Chorus Line.”

Catholic Memorial High School’s Doug Reed was one of six recipients for Outstanding Choreography for the production of
“Grease.” Individually, Oconomowoc’s Arianna Imperl won Outstanding Dance Performer for her role as Dream Laurey in “Oklahoma!”

Christopher Andacht won an Outstanding Direction award for “Grease” at Catholic Memorial High School. Abigail E. Kean, of the Kettle Moraine School for Arts and Performance, won an Outstanding Direction award for “Little Women.”

In the Outstanding Lead Performer category, the winners were Oconomowoc’s Emily Menting for her role as Laurey Williams in “Oklahoma!”; Waukesha West High School’s Austin Merschdorf for his role as Beast in “Disney’s Beauty and the Beast”; Kettle Moraine School for Arts and Performance’s Sophia Tzougros for her role as Jo March in “Little Women”; and Oconomowoc’s Drew Weiland as Curley in “Oklahoma!”

Catholic Memorial’s Skelly Warren grabbed an
Outstanding Scenic Design for “Grease.” The school’s Jenny Loeffler captured an Outstanding State Management award for “Grease.”

Eisenhower High School’s Elizabeth Schoepke won the other Outstanding
State Management award for “The Wizard of Oz.” In the Outstanding Supporting Performer category, the winners were Waukesha South’s Guillermo Contreras for Paul and Isaiah Reynolds as Mike in “A Chorus Line,” and Oconomowoc’s Nathan Kluge for Ali Hakim, Jacob Ranklin for Will Parker and Macy Smith as Aunt Eller in “Oklahoma!”

The 2013 Tommy Awards ceremony will be held at 7 p.m. Sunday at the Overture Center For the Arts, 201 State St., in Madison. Tickets are available by calling 608-258-4141 or visit

– TimeOut staff

No comments: