Thursday, December 15, 2011

WIAA recognizes CMH Boys Volleyball

from -

The Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association, in cooperation with Rural Mutual Insurance Company, has selected the team Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2011 Fall State Championships.

The winners of the prestigious award are Oostburg in girls volleyball, Catholic Memorial in boys volleyball, Elkhorn Area in boys soccer, Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln in football and Eau Claire Memorial in girls team tennis.

A large contingent and the positive enthusiasm displayed by Oostburg at the State Girls Volleyball Championships earned the Flying Dutchmen their first sportsmanship award in girls volleyball. It is the third time Oostburg has received the honor overall, having also been recognized in girls basketball in 2008 and boys basketball in 1986. They won their second Division 3 girls volleyball championship by defeating Spencer in a thrilling five-set match in the State final. Receiving honorable mention for the award are Hillsboro, Oconto Falls, Owen-Withee, Southwestern and Verona.

Catholic Memorial earns its third sportsmanship recognition, all coming in boys volleyball. The Hilltoppers also received sportsmanship accolades in 2006 and 2007. They lost in four sets to eventual State champion Marquette in the quarterfinals. Honorable mention for the award went to Muskego.

Elkhorn is the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award at the Boys State Soccer Tournament. It is the first Sportsmanship Award presented to the Elks in any sport. They were on the short end of a 3-0 outcome in the Division 1 quarterfinal game against Neenah. Brookfield East, Catholic Memorial, Chippewa Falls and Newman Catholic received honorable mention for the award.

In football, Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln was selected as the school and community earning the honor for their exemplary sportsmanship. It is the first time the school has been selected for the award in football, and it’s the sixth time the Red Raiders have been recognized overall. They have received sportsmanship citations in team wrestling in 1996, 2004 and 2006, in boys hockey in 2006 and in boys tennis in 2000. This fall, they fell 7-0 to Kenosha Bradford in the Division 1 title game. Receiving honorable mention were Colby, Greenwood/Granton, Lancaster, Seneca and Waterford.

Eau Claire Memorial is the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award in girls team tennis for the third time, which ties Monroe for the most times honored in the sport. The Old Abes have now received seven State sportsmanship awards. In addition to the recognition in girls tennis in 1998 and 2004, they have also been bestowed the honor in boys hockey in 1992 and 2000, girls soccer in 2005, and in boys basketball in 1970. They fell to eventual State champion Homestead 6-1 in a Division 1 semifinal match after Madison East quarterfinals by the same score. Notre Dame, Oshkosh West and Regis received honorable mention for the award.

The WIAA/Rural Insurance Sportsmanship Award is presented to one school program and community–or communities in the case of cooperative programs–in each of the State team tournaments that exemplifies outstanding sportsmanship. Award winners are determined by the conduct and sportsmanship displayed by athletes, coaches, cheer and support groups, mascots, bands and spectators. Additional consideration is given for the effort of school administrators and chaperones to insure support for their teams are positive and that the highest ideals of sportsmanship are upheld.

Award winners receive a trophy and banner in recognition of the honor. Schools receiving honorable mention are acknowledged with a certificate of recognition. The selection process includes contributions and evaluations from contest officials, tournament management, police and security personnel, crowd control and ushers, WIAA staff members, and area hotels and restaurants on occasion.

No comments: